My Black Midi Skirt Obsession

Anyone on my Instagram would have seen my ‘best buy of the summer so far’ quite a few times already, but I just cannot get enough of it.  And now it’s in the sale too. Perfect.

It’s the Black Eyelet Midi Skirt from Gap. I bought it on a whim a few weeks ago and have worn it at least twice a week ever since – now I can’t quite work out what I did without it; always a good sign of a great buy.

blackmidistock

It’s been to the Alexander McQueen exhibition at the V&A, plus Alice’s Adventure’s Underground, AND a lovely friend’s lovely 40th party to name just three outings.

Being fully lined and in fab lightweight cotton it was perfect in the heatwave that lasted all of two minutes, but works perfectly on cooler days with a tee and denim jacket as well, or – my favourite look I think – with a denim shirt tucked in.

black midi 4

Denim Shirt – ASOS
Skirt – GAP 
Shoes – Next

black midi 5

Gold Coins Necklace – Alice’s Wonders
Polly Plains Tee – French Connection
Skirt – GAP
Shoes – John Lewis

black midi2

Gold Leaf Necklace – Alice’s Wonders (pre order available)
T-shirt – H&M
Skirt – GAP
Sandals – Topshop

And most importantly it’s got pockets and everything – got to love a pocket!   Ooh – have just thought about trying with a black and white Breton too – which I don’t have actually have.  Yet….

It’s down to £27.99 in the sale online, but I did see it at Westfield Stratford for £9.99 so is even cheaper instore.  If you are looking online there are only limited sizes available I’m afraid (try the tall or petite versions as well).  Use code SUNNYGAP for a further 20% off.

I loved it so much I’ve actually bought it in the white too – also on sale, with slightly more sizes available.

whitemidistock

A word of warning – the waistband is a bit tight to get over your bottom (or it is for me!), although a perfect fit once on, but if you put it on over your head like a top its much easier! I wear an XS and am a size 8-10.

Leave a Reply

